Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

It is argued that the government should give preference to local food producers, whereas a number of people insist that importing food is much more beneficial. To the best of my knowledge, consuming local food is likely to possess essential advantages for the state. To commence with, the encouraging local food industry may definitely contribute to the developing of a state’s economy. Providing the farms or food factories expanded, then these fields would pay more taxes to the state. Hence, the revenues of the country would increase noticeably and it will influence positively the quality of life. The most salient example is the government of Spain, which has encouraged its food-producing during the last decade, and, therefore, has experienced more than 15% economic growth. Apart from the aforementioned argument, there exist another vivid reason for avoiding import products. The cause lies behind the suspicious foreign producers. The victims of such companies more often than not become impoverished nations. Nobody would deny, that these countries sometimes import unhealthy or, even dangerous food, because of its lower cost, thus threatening the health of the nation. Consequently, producing local food might be safer. To illustrate, according to the recent research of one of the social organizations in Armenia, the majority of diseases during the last two years in the state has been caused by the import of fruit and vegetables. To conclude, the positive outcomes of local food-producing are likely to be crucial, whereas importing foreign products may create some essential problems for the country.