Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last decades, the global economy has dramatically developed as a consequence of people's endeavours. Some claim that the longer the average working in a country, the more the economy succeed. I personally disagree with this viewpoint, and I will elaborate on the reason in this essay. To begin with, long working time does not guarantee a high outcome. On the contrary, it negatively impacts the results since long hour workers are likely to have higher fatigue and consequently cause a lack of concentration and decreased productivity. In the worst case, they might get work-related disease, such as depression. For example, the Japanese are well-known as long- time workers, and their diligence has contributed to the rapid development of the economy since the end of the 2nd World War. However, nowadays, their suicide rate among the working generation is relatively high, and the economy's growth became slower and slower. Furthermore, not all prosperous countries have long work time. For instance, some northern European countries, such as Norway and Sweden, place more importance on the work-life balance. Interestingly, both their economic situation and the citizen's life satisfaction are relatively high. Therefore, the most important thing is not the length of working time but the quality. Moreover, if citizens private time is fruitful, they are more likely to spend their time shopping, socializing or voluntary work, affecting the economy. In conclusion, I can't entirely agree with the statement because the work quality does not measure by the length of working time. I believe that public health and well-being condition are more essential to flourish in countries in the long run.