Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who some times disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue nowadays relates to whether to have friends who share the same opinions or not. In this essay, I am going to examine both views and then I am going to explain why I believe it is better to have friends who are aligned with the same thoughts. There are people who argue that it is better to build relationships with people who think differently. According to them, we only learn and grow as a person when we listen to different points of views in order to build our own. For example, there are friends who think completely different with regards to politics, while one is left-wing, the other is right-wing. Even if arguments can happen between friends who share different views, some believe this is a positive fact. As a consequence, having friends whom some times disagree with us could be positive not only for the development of the friendship but also for personal growth. On the other hand, some people believe that the best choice is to choose friends who share the same thoughts and interests. This is because they believe that a friendship is more likely to thrive if friends speak the same language. For example, some groups of friends usually get together to practise some sports, which is the main interest of all. Therefore, as they have the same opinions and interests, they spend a long time together without having any arguments, which could be a threat to the relationship. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. However, on balance, I feel that the best option is to choose friends who have the same ideas. This is because when you have a friend you want to spend time with him to socialise and have fun without any problems or discussions. That being said, although I believe it is not the best option, I agree that it is possible to have friends who have different opinions.