Some cities create extra housing by building tall buildings. Other cities do this by building on wide areas of land. Which do you think is the best solution to the problem of housing?

These days the discussion about urban planning and housing is a need. In this, essay I will discuss some of the problems associated with the different models to solve accommodation issues and propose some solutions. One of the problems involving housing issues is that depending on the growth of the cities, new accommodations must be created in the short term. For example, in Europe due to the influx of,, refugees there are many people living on the streets for lack of adequate habitations. To solve this situation, city authorities should invest in creating vertical buildings which can be erected quickly. That is because the area where apartments can be constructed demand only one foundation for the creation of many units. As a,result more families would have proper lodgings and a higher quality of life. Another factor to be taken into consideration is that some cities have vast amounts of unoccupied areas. Generally in the country there are places that are uninhabited and where people could live. For instance, in the city of Campina Grande do Sul the administration decided to stimulate the construction of affordable houses in a region that was not previously used. As a consequence, there was an increase in the number of condominiums built and of residences available to the population. In conclusion, although residential problems are a reality in many cities, there are possible ways of improving them. In my view, the public authorities have the responsibility to provide options for housing, and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.