Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world. What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level? What could individuals do to help?

Traffic congestion has become a significant obstacle all over the world. However, several efforts can be implemented to tackle this issue at a societal level, and people can conduct a variety of initiatives to support such efforts. This essay will examine the practical solutions to overcome traffic congestion. To commence, a myriad of actions can be carried out to cope with traffic congestion at a societal level. Firstly, the government can promulgate a policy that prohibits private vehicle usage during certain times, preventing the excessive use of conventional vehicles. For instance, the government can introduce a car-free day program during the weekends and encourage its residents to utilize the public transit system. Additionally, the government can also raise dramatically the price of fuel for private vehicles. Therefore, individuals will prefer to adopt alternative modes of transportation, namely trains or buses as their main transportation for commuting daily. In addition, there are a plethora of ways that people can do in order to strengthen traffic prevention. One instrumental action for individuals is to opt for public transportation instead of personal automobiles, as an enormous number of private vehicles on the street are the primary problem which causes traffic. Therefore, there will be fewer cars and motorcycles on the street, reducing the level of traffic congestion. Moreover, another paramount action is to launch a campaign that enhances people ’s awareness of the negative impact of traffic, as traffic has substantial drawbacks on individuals’ psychology, including stress or fatigue. Consequently, as people acknowledge the threat that traffic has on people ’s psychology, they will be wiser in using their personal conveyances. To encapsulate, in order to mitigate high levels of traffic, the government can enact a policy that restricts private vehicle usage and increases the price of private vehicle fuel, along with individual measures, such as choosing public transportation and promoting a campaign regarding the negative impact of traffic. Through these efforts, I believe people can pave the way for less traffic in the world.