People who travel to another country to live, work or study for a period of time often suffer badly from homesickness. Why this problem occurs? What are the best ways to reduce this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many people decide to spend a period of their time outside the country, to live, work, or try a new experience. It is not always an easy decision, and it is common to feel homesickness. This feeling is normal, especially if you are living in another environment, outside your comfort zone. However, everyone can avoid this problem with time, re-building a completely new life, from friendships to habits. An experience outside the own country is usually useful, for learning another language, exploring other countries, and learning something new. Despite this, especially at the beginning, it is common to feel lost. Body and mind are attached to a specific environment, a specific city or town, to our friends and family. Without these safe reference points, we do not know what do to, or how to manage our lives. However, nothing is lost. People should resist for a while before they give up, because there are solutions to homesickness. We need time to discover the new country – the new office, the new university, and the new city – and to get used to a different culture. After that, we should start to build new solid relationships, that are extremely important to re-create a “family abroad”, a “safe place”. In addition, a solution can be to keep your agenda full. The more experience you have, the more places you visit, and the better you will feel. To highlight how homesickness is usually irrelevant I can use recent research, from the University of Boston. They show that just one person to five, if he could go back, would not have the experience of living in another country again, due to homelessness. To sum up, today some people decide to move to another country, but sometimes they miss their home, their family, and their culture. It is completely normal in the first period, but with time, patience and will, people get used to the new environment and, in the end, they call it a “second home”.