Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that having parties to celebrate important moments such as graduating or getting married is the same as throwing money away while others believe that these celebrations are extremely important. This essay discusses both these views and then I will give my own opinion which is that spending a lot of money on celebrations is a waste of money. On one hand, spending money on celebrations can be a waste of resources. Firstly, these special parties usually cost a fortune since individuals have to rent a place, hire a band and catering services but only last for a few hours, consequently, people will never see all that money again so it should not be consider as an investment. Additionally, the budget spent on it could certainly be better used on something that has more value like buying a car, investing on people ’s business or even travelling. To illustrate, many young people in Brazil nowadays are not putting their money on big celebrations when they get married and save the money to spend in their new homes. On the other hand, there are those who believe it is important to have something to mark important events. People feel that these celebrations can be the point where they are rewarded for all the effort they made so far and give them determination to keep moving forward and going after their dreams. Moreover, parties are also a moment to share their achievements with friends and family creating memories of the most important events on their lives which they will never forget and can always look back through the photographs and videos from that unforgettable day. In conclusion, both sides have their merits, however, in my opinion, spending a huge amount of money on a celebration is a total waste of money since the entertainment only lasts for a few hours and this money could be spent on more essential things such as acquiring a house.