It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although it is true that most successful musicians and sportsmen are gifted in some ways, it is also very common for the mediocre to be trained to succeed. I believe that talents can make one successful faster and earlier in his or her life, but it is proper coaching that allows most of us to do well in music and sports. Many who excel in music and sports are born with the talents and manifest them at an early age. Mozart, for example, is regarded as a musical prodigy who composed many masterpieces at the age of as young as fourteen. When Mozart was still a child, it was believed that he could already distinguish the tonalities of different compositions. As such, it is not surprising that many artists and sportsmen are gifted to accomplish what the talentless are incapable of doing. Nevertheless, consistent proper training can also create elite musical and athletic professionals yet at a comparatively slower pace. Cristiano Ronaldo has been reported to be a training machine for fitness by following a strict daily routine, and for horning his soccer skilled by sheer repetitions. It is rumoured that Ronaldo has spent more than 10,000 hours on soccer practice before he played with Real Madrid, though his rise to fame came much later than his rivalry Lionel Messi who is believed to be a soccer genius. This demonstrates that despite the late success, people who are less apted can still be successful through proper training. In conclusion, I believe that some people in the world are indeed bestowed with rare musical and athletic aptitudes which let them succeed early in life. Yet it is hard work and persistent training that allow most of us to gain mastery in music and sports.