INCREASING THE PRICE OF PETROL IS THE BEST WAY TO SOLVE TRAFFIC AND POLLUTION PROBLEMS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE? WHAT ARE THE OTHER MEASURES DO YOU THINK MIGHT BE EFFECTIVE?

Traffic and pollution has become a global problem therefore, it is suggested that increasing the amount of gasoline would be a solution to the issue. I strongly disagree with this point of view as I believe that these concerns can be resolved differently without making unnecessary demands of the public. In recent times, globalization has brought about the problems of overpopulation. This is therefore, exposed the problems associated with the increased influx of person’s like traffic and pollution. For instance, people have the tendencies to migrate from rural areas to developing areas because of diverse reasons like better amenities, employments and healthcare purposes. The influx of people into a region can have negative effects on the citizens because, adjustments would be required with regards to transportation. Therefore, more vehicles would be operating on the roads, this causes pollution because of the fumes emitted from vehicles. There are a wide range of solutions that can be implemented to curb the congestion of roads and pollution. And they are; the government putting laws in place to prevent excessive migrantion, continual development of other regions in the country to prevent migration, the establishments of profitable organizations in various parts of the country. Another way would be to increase income taxes in these developing areas to scare people away. Furthermore provide incentives and subsidies to people in rural place as this would discourage them from migrating to bigger cities. In conclusion, traffic and pollution have become major societal issues. In my opinion, increasing the gasoline price is a short-term solution that could even upset the public and become counterproductive. Solving issues that lead to migration could bring about major changes in regards to the afore-mentioned. I predict improvement of these issues if the solutions proffered are considered.