Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

Computers are ubiquitous in educational institutions today. Like many issues in contemporary education, not everyone views this change favourably. Yet computers have had an overall progressive influence on educational practices. In particular, though their ease makes them susceptible to being used for malicious purposes, computers have made information more readily available to students in a positive way. Some educational researchers claim that computers have had an adverse impact on education, particularly in regards to the ease in which students can now plagiarize. Plagiarism, or stealing someone else's ideas or words by claiming them as your own, is a widespread problem in North American college campuses. Students sometimes copy-and-paste information from online sources and submit it as their own. While it is true that computers are often used to plagiarize, the problem can be solved when teachers effectively promote academic integrity. For example, in one of my classes, the instructor required us to write the first draft in-class without the use of a computer. This made it more difficult for some students to get away with plagiarism. In fact, computers have had an overall positive influence on education by facilitating access to information. Prior to computer technology, most information was found in books, which you had to purchase or borrow. Today, however, the information in these books are available online through PDFs or webpages. For example, archive.org contains thousands of books no longer in circulation. These books may be accessed for free by anyone with a computer and an internet connection. All in all, although the widespread use of computer technology has some drawbacks, especially related to plagiarism, the stronger view is that computers have improved educational practices, particularly, by rendering information more easily accessible by the masses.