A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern world, people tend to go behind other people who have a high profile in society. While some people opine to agree with the statement, others think the exact opposite. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement and would elaborate on the reasons for it in this essay. To begin with, a phenomenon which is seen in the new generation is that people who are rich are given more preferences socially even though the person would have earned the money through illegal ways. This is usually judged by the car they own or by the expensive accessories they use. For example, Kingfisher company owner Vijay Mallya was given a popular status among other people even though he had earned money by selling liquor and smuggling which is a business of no honour and integrity. As a result of this growing trend, people no longer recognise individuals who have kindness and trustworthiness as their assets. Secondly, the old generation people were more genuine and transparent as it was easy for other people to easily understand what is going through their mind. In addition, people blindly believed each other which helped them to have a strong connection with each other. Therefore, they never knew how to show off in front of other people which has become an advantage for the people who could do tricks. For instance, a lot of people mask their weaknesses by displaying their valuable materialistic items which attract a large number of people to make friends with them whereas the old generation stays away from such kinds of presentation which shook away other people. In conclusion, in my opinion, I completely agree with the statement and think that the old generation people possess better qualities than the new generation. In addition, I recommend people to stay away from filthy people who try to earn respect by showing off and encourage to find persons with quality personality.