In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to so in this.

There are several obstacles for individuals that are learning a new language to overcome. This essay discusses some of these problems and then suggests some manners to contour them. Firstly, the main difficulties faced are related to pronunciation and vocabulary. With regards to the first one, it is often due to differences between the first language and the new one. People are taught and are used to speak with a particular accent and intonation that by the time they need to adapt it for a new idiom can be extremely challenging. In addition, when it comes to vocabulary, there are numerous new words and different uses for them to be memorized. This is becoming tougher because people’s lives are increasingly busier and their brains seem to be overwhelmed, lacking space for new information. However, there are some alternatives to at least minimize these difficulties. One of them is to talk with native speakers. In my opinion, it is the best way to get used to a new language and sound more natural. In the past, one would have to be immensely lucky to know some foreign speaker and be able to chat frequently, but nowadays it is way more accessible thanks to the internet. For instance, there are various websites where individuals can call strangers all around the world to chat, either for educational or social purposes. Another solution is to watch TV shows, preferentially using subtitles, to acquire trivial words and understand the situations that they are used. To conclude, individuals face numerous problems while learning a new language, such as difficulty in pronunciation and poor vocabulary. However, looking for native speakers to practice and watching TV shows can facilitate the process.