Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we do not need, others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is suggested by some that, advertisements implores people to purchase products that they do not need, while others think that commercials inform us about new merchandise that may improve our lives. In my opinion, I believe that advertisements are necessary because they can offer variety of products that can improve our daily lives. On one hand, commercials have suddenly become increasingly popular. Some people think that these infomercials persuade them into buying products they do not need. These days a lot of companies invest heavily in advertisements as a strategy to get consumers to purchase goods from the comfort of their homes using various methods like; secure credit card payment options, applications dedicated for online shopping etc.These advertisements have been set up in such a way that, it is persuasive to the public, therefore people indulge in buying products that they really have no need for, some can even go as far as exhausting the funds they do not have to satisfy their urges. On the other hand, advertisements has made life seemingly easier for people that do not have time to visit the shopping centres, they can do their necessary shopping from the comfort of their homes. These days, infomercials are quite interesting and informative and also with some incentives attached to the products. For example, some companies give trial periods for testing of some products. In other words people can make payment for a product of their choice, try it out for a limited time then return if they become disinterested with the product plus full money back. Furthermore, some offer massive discounts, sales, free delivery etc. In my opinion, although advertisements can be tempting, a person can easily be implored to purchase unwanted merchandises, it is also important to state that, it is very beneficial and easy especially for busy people who do not have time to shop at mall or shopping centres. In conclusion, advertisements have changed the way of communication between producers and their consumers because, people can now make their choice of goods from the comfort of their home while also being updated to improvements and variants of the products they are interested in. If the approach of restraint is applied by consumers they can avoid buying merchandise they do not need.