7. In cities, space for housing should be created by knocking down historic buildings. What is your opinion?

Some people consider that historical buildings should be demolished to build new residential properties. I strongly disagree with this because these are crucial part of national heritage and help to attract tourists. Firstly, old buildings are part of national heritage and have importance for the country in which it is situated. These are the symbol of national culture. Some old buildings have unique design and architecture of these are worldwide famous. If these traditional and unique buildings are demolished, such identity is lost. For instance, Jantra Mantra of India is an example of unique architecture. These buildings should not be knocked down to build new houses because preserving the national and cultural heritage is the responsibilty responsibly of the nation. Secondly, historical buildings are center of attraction for tourists. They always have keen interest in the conventional style of buildings. Nations which has more historical buildings can earn good revenue by charging entry tickets from visitors. This will eventually help these nations to grow. For instance, most of authorities of the palaces in Jaipur in India charge a small amount to every spectators; however, these charge a double ticket price from foreigners. The attraction for these buildings is beneficial for nations as these help to earn income. In conclusion, historical buildings are an indispensable part of cultural heritage and attraction for tourists. I believe these should not be demolished to build new houses as the importance for the nation will be lost and tourists will not visit which will be a loss for nations.