Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is highly assumed that health issues are followed by consuming processed food and drinks which are high is sugar. Some are of the opinion that making sugary food pricier, probably would prevent people from buying them. Personally, I side with this view for a number of reasons. Sugary products can put our health at risk of various diseases. To commence with, sugar may cause serious health issues, such as heart disease, obesity, and diabetes. To clarify, it is common knowledge that you are what you eat. If one consumes sugary products excessively, one will initially confront obesity. This can eventually lead to other disease, including diabetes. Consequently, the government has to take this into account and take measures to improve the manufacturing of healthy food. Furthermore, imposing a tax or making sugary food pricier may deter people from buying such products. That is to say, if a government puts higher prices on sugary raw materials, it can make the consumers reluctant to pay a small fortune for those. Hence, the manufacturer will not purchase sugary raw materials in order to produce such products due to less demand. To summarize, owing to the aforementioned reasons, I am totally convinced that we can avoid health problems by consuming food and drinks that are low in sugar. Moreover, levying a tax is one of the methods that can lead us to this goal.