Research into new types of medicines and treatments are essential for improving health and dealing with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

It is inarguable that scientific research for new types of medicines is of great importance to humanity nowadays. There is a contentious debate over funding. The parties argue whether it should be paid by private companies, individuals or governments. In this essay, I will explore the matter and explain why I lean towards thinking that it should be funded by governments. Firstly, state authorities have more opportunities to provide the required control measures for progressive research. It is of high responsibility to carry out any kind of scientific search in compliance with modern human ethics. For instance, there are plenty of examples when uncontrolled scientific work has been carried out on endangered animal species in developing countries by private companies. Furthermore, another example of a private medical study gone wrong is when one doctor from China claimed that he has cured a newborn from AIDS. He has performed unethical genes altering on a new-born baby. Therefore, genetics doctors all over the world claimed that his actions were opportunistic and that the baby may experience unforeseen health complications in future. Such wrongdoings would have never happened in a study funded by the government. Secondly, another reason to favour the idea of the country paying for the work is that the cure will be affordable to the population. For instance, one dose of Zolgensma which cures muscular dystrophy costs more than 2 000 000 dollars. The pharmaceutical company which produces this medicine justifies the cost of research is sitting inside the high price. State studies are paid by taxpayers, thus the findings are more affordable to the population. To conclude, I think it is hard to argue that any kind of medical search should be funded by the states. The main reasons for my opinion are that it should be controlled, as well as the benefits should be affordable for the nation.