As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike, leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The globalisation driven by the growth of mass communication and transport, has led to societies becoming increasingly similar. Some argue that this will result in the complete loss of cultural identity. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because there are still many ways to preserve our cultural identity, through education and historical awareness. One reason why I disagree with the statement is that education is a good approach to let people remember and inherit their culture. For instance, The Maori, one of the most significant cultures in New Zealand, is widely recognised in the world. Through the compulsory school courses, pupils in the country learn about its importance and meaning. As a result, the traditional Maori dance is a symbol of pride and is respected globally. This demonstrates that people would not lose their cultural identity with globalisation. Besides, citizens’ historical awareness is also another approach to protecting cultural identity. Taking Jews as an example, after a long time of being colonised by other ethnicities, they still established their own country, Israel. Additionally, they do not forget their historical wounds. From my perspective, this also leads to the constant conflicts in Middle East. Jews attend to protect their land because they consider the territory has belonged to them for thousands of years. However, near countries tend to attack them to retake those lands. As a result, almost all of the Jews remember their history, as well as their cultural identity. Overall, I deeply believe that although globalisation leads to certain similarities among societies, it is clear that it will not lead to losing cultural identity. As demonstrated by education and historical awareness, cultural identity can still be preserved despite the growing influence of globalisation.