International tourism is now more common than ever before. Some feel it is a positive trend but others don’t. Give your opinion.

Travelling to other countries for leisure and holiday is becoming increasingly popular these days. Some people consider this to be a good thing. However, a part of society is opposed to this trend, claiming that it has several negative implications. In the following paragraphs, I’d like to express my viewpoint. Tourism is part and parcel of human culture. It is critical to the country’s economy because it generates a fair amount of employment and brings invaluable foreign currency. There are a few countries, such as Hong Kong, Maldives and Thailand, where tourism contributes a significant amount of their GDP, and as a result, nations encourage tourism to boost their economies. Besides this, with the advancement of internet international travellers contribute many ways to social and cultural interaction by informing people about the values and traditions of other countries and bringing people around the globe together. However, there is a subset of people who believe that global tourism has resulted in cultural dilution, deforestation and depletion of natural resources. When people from different cultures visit a country, they impose their values on the locals, causing a dent in local values and traditions. For example, women with bikini are alien to orthodox and religious society. They feel it is an insult to their traditional and cultural values. Furthermore, uncontrolled tourism activities has been linked to environmental damage. Coral reef damage in Australia, deforestation in Amazon for the shake of tourism industry is a good example of this. In conclusion, while global tourism has caused some issues, I believe that the increase in international travel has resulted in many significant positive developments that have benefited nations.