Today in many countries people are living in a ‘throwaway” society where things are used for a short time and then throw away. What do you think is the cause and what problems will it lead to

It is now common to see people purchase things and only use them for a short period then throw them away. This can stem from many causes, which can have a negative impact on the environment. The significant boost in manufacturing productivity attributed to continuous technological breakthroughs is the first and foremost stimulus. In fact, mass production and automatic assembly lines installed in most factories nowadays substantially increase the output, thus lowering the cost of consumer goods. Household durables such as TV sets and fridges are more affordable to present ordinary citizens with an average income. Compared to having broken appliances fixed, replacing them with a brand new over-the-self model is not as costly as before. Moreover, the fact that many commodities are upgraded rapidly due to fast-changing trends and technological advancement is another contributor. Fashion items, such as clothes and accessories, are the perfect example to show contemporary people’s attitudes. On top of that, new models of electronic devices are launched into the market once every few months. In order to benefit from these new features, customers are often forced or tempted to change their smartphone. On the other hand, this trend brings certain disadvantages. Firstly, the main issue is the waste of natural resources because of the excessive production of consumer goods. For instance, many trees are cut down to produce various household items.If people wanted to replace their furniture more frequently, it would result in the destruction of forests. Secondly, a large amount of domestic waste is inevitably generated daily. Even though some can be recycled assuming that household garbage classification is effectively implemented in most communities, more landfills are still needed, let alone the potential threat posed by non-biodegradable rubbish, such as plastic bags. This garbage leads to a detrimental effect on the environment. In conclusion, many reasons can be given to explain why citizens purchase stuff and only use them for a short period of time and certain problems may arise from it.