Nowdays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure . Some belive this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to . To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people feel that travelling abroad for pleasure, which has now become a trend, will have negative consequences on host countries. I completely agree that a large number of tourists is often unbeneficial for countries travelled to. This essay will discuss how tourists are a potential risk for locations they visit and how economies should not depend on money from tourists trade. Firstly, having a large tourist trade can adversely affect the environment by causing pollution. Many visitors are not respectful and purposely cause damage, which can lead to the destruction of nature or historical places. Also, tourists can influence and change the local culture and this can lead to a loss of identity. A prime example can be Durres, a city of Albania, whose coast was totally polluted by tourists. A large number of visitors required extra accommodation that led to the construction of new buildings which changed the city's view drastically. Another point to discuss is that for many countries tourism makes up a large proportion of national income. It has the power to boost the economy but this does not always benefit the local communities. Besides, is very dangerous for all countries to depend on these incomes as it makes economies vulnerable is the case of a global crisis. For instance, Mycono's economy, which is maintained mostly by tourism, decreased by 70% due to Covid 19. This is reflected in communities well-being as almost all locals were employed in this sector. In conclusion, tourism can bring environmental problems and can damage the economy in the long terms if it is considerably depended on its income.