Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, people are focusing on meeting their material needs. This has led manufacturing companies to produce more consumer goods to meet their demand. The drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits which this essay is going to elaborate below. First and foremost, in the modern era individuals are acquiring a lot of possessions as a way of showing their status. For example, everyone want to decorate their house with latest furniture and have different gadgets. This has resulted in very beautiful homes and also it has made people to work very hard so as to meet their goals. Therefore it is positive and does not benefit individuals alone but nations. However, such has resulted in low production of capital goods as every company try to work on things that are on high demand. For instance, manufacturing industries by pass the need for machinery and and therefore resulting in them becoming very expensive. Furthermore,as everyone is basing on producing immediate products a lot of counterfeit are seen in the market. People will buy them without realising that and this will be a loss. Consequently, high demand for certain commodities limits making of other important things,in this case machinery, also resulting in a number of dishonest on the market. To conclude, although consumer goods have become so essential I believe the cons outweigh the pros. People has put a lot of pressure on producers as they are working to their demands. Such has rcaused in an imbalance in production industries.