Write about the following topic. It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a saying, "the world is getting smaller", which portrays the rapid development of technology to travel and communicate between every corner of the globe. Nowadays, the transportation technology has allowed people to discover even the most remote areas of this planet. Some people may regard that as beneficial, while others see the negative aspects as well. This essay presents the advantages and drawbacks of this technology development. One of the positive aspects of such development is that scientists can study the environments of remote natural areas. Take an example the researchers which study the ice cover in parts of Antarctica. By analyzing the ice layers, the scientists can develop models to approximate the timeline of the Earth's climate and environment up to hundreds of million years ago. Another examples include ecologists studying the ecosystem in remote environments and archaeologists researching the remains of civilization. Another advantageof such technology is that it can prevent overcrowded populations. By exploring new areas, people can build new civilizations. Examples of this can be observed in many developing countries with rapidly increasing populations, where the government is building new cities and towns to spread out the population. Such development also has some disadvantages, however. Discovering remote areas can, for instance, disrupt the native ecosystems of the environment. One example is building a new civilization in a remote area, which often requires the cutting of trees or even forests which are the natural habitats of species present in that area. Another example of the negative effect of such technology development involves uncontacted tribes. "Regular" people may bring diseases formerly unknown to the remote tribes which can lead to the decline of their population. In short, it can be said that the travel technology allowing people to explore remote environments has its own benefits such as in science and building new civilizations, but one should also consider the negative effects such as the environmental impacts.