The obesity rates among teenagers have increased dramatically in many developed countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

In the modern world, obesity in young people has seen a long-term increasing tendency in a multitude of countries. Hence, the following essay will examine the main causes of this negative movement, as well as describe some possible ways to tackle this complication. To begin with, the popularity of junk food among teenagers and their sedentary lifestyle are the main reasons for this tendency. First of all, as a variety of corporations produce readily available foodstuffs, which are high in fats and sugar, such products constitute a major part of the diet of young generations. For example, well-known companies like Mcdonalds and KFC have their branches in many developed countries, so it adversely affects children's choice regarding their daily intake. Besides, due to the fact that teenagers tend to spend their free time with different gadgets, they perform less physical activities. As a result, the amount of calories, which children consume during a day, is higher than they can burn, and it leads to an increase in weight. From my point of view, effective solutions to resolve this possessing social issue should come from state organisations, as well as parents. As huge companies provide teenagers with unhealthy food, governments can regulate this by setting a special levy for products, which have an inadequate level of sugar, so it will probably stop the production of these foodstuffs. For instance, this law is going to be accepted in the UK, and the government believe that it will be the best way to halt childrens' health degradation. Moreover, parents should monitor and regulate the daily activities of their kids, and they should proactively alter it by starting joined physical exercises. Thus, it can probably drastically change the lifestyle of young people, so the risk of obesity will become lower. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with such a pressing social dilemma like obesity among teenagers. This tendency has been increasing in developed countries due to the lazy lifestyle of children and the pressing popularity of convenience junk. Had governments and parents started reactive actions from their side, this movement would not have been pressing nowadays.