The only way to improve the safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, people are inclined to be more interested in ensuring safety when participating in traffic. And some believe that giving stricter punishment is the only way to improve safety on our roads. I partly agree with this opinion. On the one hand, giving stricter punishment for driving offences can help drivers grasp traffic laws, which leads to traffic accident reduction as well as increasing safety for road users. The goal is to ensure that law violators can understand the serious consequences that they cause and warn them to avoid wrongdoing. To illustrate this, let's consider the example of traffic law in Vietnam, a motorist without wearing a helmet during his riding can be fined between $20 to $40, and thus he will never break the rule again. In other countries, the traffic law stipulates that if a driver breaks the rule, their driver's license will be confiscated and have to pay a large fine. These can cause road users will be in fear of facing further punishment and avoid violent law. From my perspective, I firmly believe that giving stricter punishment is not the only way to ensure the safety of participants in traffic. Besides this method, the authority should raise awareness about traffic for citizens through social media, it can provide some essential knowledge about the law as well as help them grasp serious consequences when they break the law. In addition, police officers need to encourage people to use public transport instead of private vehicles to avoid traffic jams. Moreover, the government can add more skills tests to the driver's license exam. To sum up, I believe that the way to improve safety on our roads is a combination of the measures mentioned above.