Schools should teach children some academic subjects which will be beneficial to their future careers. Therefore, other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is suggested that music and sports are not relevant subjects, therefore schools should educate children on some academic courses that will be advantageous in their future careers. I disagree with this viewpoint as I believe that arts and sports creates an avenue for self expression and may also create better opportunities for the children in the future. Firstly, arts and sporting activities are a major component of a active child's life. These subject creates a safe space of self expression and development. For instance, as a former child myself, I can boldly say that music and athletics saved me. The characteristics that I exhibit today, happened as a result of training on the field with my classmates, getting in teenage squabbles and finding solutions in that moment because during competitions we had to band together. Music also give us the freedom to express our emotions deal with personal issues through the various lessons about musicals and how they came about. Therefore, music is essential because it is truly the medicine for the soul. Secondly, music and sports are subjects that require either talent, skill or hardwork. The option of these subjects are needed in schools because, some students have various strengths and weaknesses. A clear example would be, basketball stars. Majority of them have stated that, they struggled academically however, they where able to discover their talent such as athleticism before they streamlined it to basketball which has not only made them famous and influential people but also wealthy. Therefore, if the option of sports were made unavailable at their schools, it would have been very difficult for them to achieve any goals set for themselves to becoming upright and outstanding members of society. In conclusion, eventhough, academic subjects are important, music and sports are relevant as well because, they give an average or struggling student a chance at a bright future. Therefore, scrapping it from the school curriculum would do not good to either the kids or society.