Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that countries should be self-sufficient in food production and minimize the number of imported food products. I completely disagree with the statement and the following paragraphs will shed light on the reasons for my disagreement. Firstly, it is impossible for a country to survive with its own products as this limits the array of food available for public consumption.Certain exotic vegetables or fruits thrive well only in a particular climatic condition and not every country is capable of producing all the consumables. For example, blueberries are commonly found everywhere as it requires a cooler climate. So, it grows well in Canada and U.S.A however, it won't flourish in a tropical country like Thailand. It is unrealistic to expect a country to grow all of it's produce. Secondly, importing foods are extremely beneficial to a nation's economy. People nowadays are open to adopting a healthier lifestyle and many of them opt for high-grade food supplements from foreign countries. As the demand for such superfoods as spirulina, kale is increasing numerous e-commerce websites have started importing and selling these products, thereby contributing revenue to the economy. Thus, if people need to get their hands on high-quality products it can only happen if they are imported. To conclude, it is impractical for a nation to meet all the food requirements of its entire population if it limits the choices to only homegrown produce. Additionally, people require a variety and high-end products which may not be available in their native country. In my opinion, countries should not limit themselves and import different products.