In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that allocating a sizable amount of money to expanding new railway lines between cities for faster transportation, is of paramount importance, whereas others believe that the money should be devoted to the development of current public transportation. I strongly agree with the latter opinion and my reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that governments should spend money on the present public transport infrastructures in their countries. In many developing nations, the budget for construction operations is limited. Therefore, governments are responsible for spending it in the right and efficient way. For example, in India, overcrowding is the primary problem in public transportation. Citizens are struggling with infrequent and unreliable train schedules. Consequently, the government should prioritize expanding and extending the railway lines as opposed to creating new ones. Furthermore, since the price of express train tickets is not affordable for many individuals in impoverished areas, establishing new railways for fast trains seems a waste of money. On the other hand, another group of people claim that constructing express transportation, encourages citizens to use public transportation more often. They firmly insist that fast transportation can assist people in saving their time. However, I do not find this argument convincing as a considerable number of countries have failed to benefit from this approach. For instance, in Iran, a very fast train railway between two cities was constructed around six years ago, although most people are unable to pay the fare of this train. In conclusion, in my view, governments are in charge of allocating money to existing public transport. The cost-effectiveness and reliability of public transportation should be taken into consideration. Moreover, the affordability of the transportation fares plays a pivotal role in their popularity.