In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? what can government do to help reduce crime levels? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern times, crime is on the rise everywhere around the world. It is even very common in the cities. The main cause of this is unemployment which this essay is going to elaborate on below as well as suggesting possible solutions. First and foremost, it is a well known fact that the world population is increasing very fast and this has left a lot of people struggling to be employed. Such has left them engaging in criminal activities inorder to fend for themselves. For example, some youths nowadays are involved in gang robbery and acquire money through unlawful ways. This has become so rampant in major cities where there is vibrant business. Secondly, it is the responsibility of the government to fund projects which will cater for unemployed individuals. In other words, self employment is the most possible way out of uneployment. For example, the government of Zimbabwe provided loans for welding projects which have now taken care of a lot of people. Consquently, this reduced criminal activities as individuals become not only busy but also have a source of income. Furthermore, another wayout is to install CCTVs in business areas so that criminals will avoid their bad practices. To conclude, chances of going to work are getting low everyday leading some to become law breakers. However, this can be tackled by ensuring that some self sufficient jobs are introduced where the masses can participate and provide for themselves, also by making sure that there are cameras in public areas.