In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In some countries, it has become quite a common vogue among the youngsters to start working or travelling abroad for a year after completing their high school and before pursuing a university degree just to enhance their skills and gaining valuable experience. This essay will shed light on both the merits and demerits of this trend and correspondingly, it will highlight my opinion in the conclusion. To open the deliberation, there are myriad of reasons that can be favoured the statement. The first tenable aetiology is financial independence and career growth. Students are encouraged to start work after finishing their secondary education so that they can pay their university fees and bear the personal day to day expenses. Whereas, visiting several places after schooling will also help young people to attain social knowledge and to improve their communication skills. Such experiences help them to overcome inevitable challenges they are facing eventually, when they start working. For instance, several studies have proven that students with prior work experience and global exposure have a greater chance of growing fast in their career. Consequently, it increases their confidence and self-esteem. Despite having the aforementioned advantages there are disadvantages too. Starting work after finishing school or having a year gap have some drawbacks as lose interest in studies and young start thinking that a university degree is neither mandatory nor important for getting a job. Some student may find work important or interesting when they start earning. Unfortunately, it is nearly impossible to find a reputed job or to build a successful career without having a good academic qualification. To exemplify, Many multinational companies do not accept the resume of candidates who are not holding a university degree. Needless to say, a gap year can seriously affect students career who lose their focus on studies. To recapitulate, there are both merits and demerits of taking a year gap or work after high school. It can be beneficial for personal and professional development. Whereas, one year break may hamper their academic progress. In my,opine both young people should consider both pros and cons before making a career decision.