Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

It is widely accepted that globalization boosted the growth of urban areas, and major cities around the world are usually integrated by multiple ethnic groups. This development has brought unstable factors to society. In this essay, I will put forward my personal perspectives on what can be done to surmount this long-standing dilemma. To begin with, I firmly believe that it is difficult to avoid conflict between different social groups, especially in cities with a population of millions. As a result, any measures that can soothe the tension among communities with negative opinions toward one another are to be welcomed. Religion is undoubtedly one of the critical sources of disharmony. One only needs to unfold the history books to see how many tragedies happened in warfares for the past thousands of years. Most discontent between different religion is due to the lack of communication and negotiation. Under the circumstances, governments should regularly arrange meetings with heads and leaders of each religion and have them peacefully discuss relative matters. Another primary reason for disrupted harmony is cultural conflict. Subsequently, the approach the local authority can take is encouraging young students to attend primary and middle schools together. Owing to the fact that new generations have substantial acceptance toward cultures, a good relationship established at a young age is likely to carry to their adulthood. In conclusion, I am convinced that governments can definitely adopt several actions to maintain a friendly vibe of large cities, such as hold regular meetings of religion heads and build more mix-culture elementary schools.