With the increased demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought by some that in order to deal with the increased demand for natural resources, undiscovered areas should be developed. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, opening up possible areas of oil and natural gas can cause damage to the ecosystems. Throughout our history, a large portion of areas of natural beauty has been destroyed for various reasons including agriculture, housing, and industry. In such areas, the ecosystems were thrown out of balance, which caused some species to go extinct. Protecting creatures is important, as we rely on them in so many aspects of our lives such as medicine, agriculture, and tourism, and therefore, natural areas should not be opened up for resources. Secondly, while natural resources such as oil and gas are essential in our society, excessive use of them leads to air pollution and global warming. Activities such as the production of electricity release contaminants which declines air quality. For this reason, even if we discovered more resources to meet the demand, other environmental problems arise as a consequence. Because of the reasons I mentioned above, I think that finding new sustainable energy sources, and developing new ways to produce energy more effective solutions to the problem of resources. If the governments, researchers and engineers focus on these measures, it would not only save the ecosystems but also decrease pollutions. In conclusion, while it is necessary to deal with the increased demand for oil and gas, I believe that opening up undiscovered areas is harmful to the environment and our lives. Instead, the focus should be on developing new methods and devices to produce energy in a more sustainable way.