Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is well documented by various social agencies, that many modern families are inclined to have children later in life, unlike a couple of decades ago when it was considered the norm for couples to have a first baby in their early twenties. Having said that, a lot of people speculate whether it is advantageous to form a family later in life. From one point of view, there is a plethora of reasons why people might want to have children at an older age, with each case being unique and somewhat subjective, but they can be roughly categorized into two big groups. For example, some individuals want to achieve financial stability and security first, fulfilling their career potential and growth to the fullest along the way. On the contrary, others just want to live their life to the fullest in their twenties and thirties, implying that children are a huge responsibility, and forming a family must be a conscious choice at the most suitable time. Admittedly, having kids at an older age carries certain disadvantages and even serious risks, primarily connected to our health. In particular, the capacity of the reproductive system of a human being is not endless, and for some women and even men, it might be difficult to procreate past a certain threshold. Moreover, even if a couple is successful at conceiving a child, not only there is a high risk of a stillbirth, but there is still a significant chance for a newborn to develop serious health problems. However, with the current state of medicine and the rapid growth of technologies in the reproduction sphere, like surrogacy or egg freezing, many negative consequences can be easily negated. In conclusion, I firmly believe that forming a family at an older age is absolutely normal in the contemporary world, especially with the current advancements in health care. Furthermore, financial stability and emotional maturity among parents undeniably create a safe, stable and nurturing environment for future kids.