In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Income, from salaries, is the primary source of livelihood for most families. Although a part of the population thinks that this is beneficial for the nation, there is a significant number who still believes that wages should be regulated by the authorities, thus limiting the amount of money one can make. Though the essay elaborates on both views, in my opinion, there should be minimum federal regulation on the amount of money that people make. To begin with, salaries are given by institutions to their employees based on their performance at work. Therefore, any hike or decrement in pay works in a ‘carrot and stick’ manner. Good performance is credited and any dereliction of duty, punished. This promotes the wage earner to push harder. For example, a pay-hike will encourage a software engineer to code more applications. Moreover, it generates healthy competition amongst colleagues which improves efficiency in project-work. One of the downsides to this is, it may create unnecessary and fierce competition among peers, leading to a stressful job environment. Furthermore, state control over payrolls is a measure to prevent such cut-throat competition. But, this is far from reality. Regulation over earnings promotes complacency in the staff and may lead to nihilistic depression. For example, an employee who knows that his income is going to be capped at a certain level will never try to increase his efficiency at his job once he reaches his salary limit. Government intervention also discourages the employees from acquiring new skills and implementing them at work as the amount of money earned stays constant. In conclusion, authoritarian control has little in its favour and the advantages of having no regulation over earnings of salaried employees far outweigh the drawbacks. Hence, I feel that there should be no federal control over incomes.