In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

These days, there is a growing trend among people towards looking for the history of their own place in different countries. I believe this could be attributed to improving professional and general information and the willingness to experience new creative things. Moreover, examinations can be done by searching for old photos or asking elderly people in the neighbourhood. I am of the opinion that several people from various professional backgrounds may find learning about the history of their own place appealing as they tend to think differently and start personal and creative projects in the future. For instance, an architect may become curious about their own house, as they opt to gain information about the way former owners were living in the past, or even the renovations that the house underwent to become what it is now. Another case in point can be the writers who want to boost their imagination. Some writers may want to use the history of their flat so as to think about a story about a place and its residents in a more creative and remarkable way. One way of determining the history of a house for people can be by exploring the old photos of their neighbourhood on the Internet. Nowadays, as a result of technological advancements, everything can be found in visual form or written for about every topic. For example, Google Earth services provide numerous maps of a particular district during different periods in the past. Hence, people are able to find out about the changes their house went through, over time. Furthermore, asking elderly people who have been living in the same neighbourhood for a long time can be beneficial. They may even know about the former owners of the house or even a phenomenon that happened to the house. To conclude, some individuals may think about the creative projects that can be carried out associated with the history of the place they live in currently. Numerous ways are available for such research, and across all of them is looking for the old plans and photos of the entire district or former owners as well as talking to seniors who have lived in the area for a long time.