THE NUMBER OF CHILDREN THAT READ BOOKS FOR FUN HAS DROPPED DRAMATICALLY IN RECENT YEARS. WHAT ARE THE REASONS FOR THIS? HOW WE ENCOURAGE CHILDREN TO READ MORE?

In today's world, fewer and fewer children like reading books for fun and prefer to spend their free time doing other things. Firstly, this essay will discuss the possible reasons for this tendency and, secondly, it will analyse what can be made to change the situation. To begin with, it can be clearly observed that the main cause of a decreased number of infants who read books is the rapid popularisation of technologies. This is because of the fact that not only do not phones require concentration and attention which is obligatory for reading but also the major part of youngsters have become addicted to gadgets. Therefore, their daily routine consists of computers, mobiles, headphones but no one remembers the existence of books since they consider them to be boring. For example, recent research has shown that the number of child books being sold in shops has fallen by 20% compared to the last decade. However, this issue can be solved by a variety of measures and one of them is the implementation of changes in the school literature programme. This is due to the fact that not only are children's habits structured in childhood, namely during school years, but also because not interesting novels may discourage children from trying something new. As a result, if the government takes it seriously and changes the list of obligatory literature being taught in schools it may increase the interest of students in paper books. For instance, one study has illustrated that 20% of books covered in school are old-fashioned and have completely irrelevant ideas. Eventually, to conclude, the major reason for the fact that the number of children who read books for fun has dropped considerably is that there is a huge popularisation of technologies and phone use. Despite this, one possible reason for solving this issue is to make changes to the school literature programme.