Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid this?

Farming is the starting point of every nation, although in this day and age; the younger generation has hung back from taking up farming as an occupation. This is due to this reason which can be solved. Analysing that farming as a job seems to be socially non-prestigious; however creating awareness about farming is a remedy to why many youngsters are not interested in the profession. To begin with, a lot of youths have refused to venture into farming as a profession because it appears to be socially non-prestigious. For instance, there is this feeling that the public looks down on youths who shows interest in farming as a job. Sadly, this makes them have an inferiority complex when they consider farming as a career option; as a matter of fact, the society makes them believe that once they fail, they cannot bounce back. This shows that youngsters will refuse to take up farming as an occupation if the society sees it to be insignificant. On the other hand, creating awareness is one way in which young people can become interested in farming as a job. For example, the government should take the initiative to educate the population about farming practises such as precision farming and its sustainability that brings remunerative income. Deplorably, youngsters cannot earn a financially worthwhile income than other jobs, if there is no proper sensitization about farming. This verifies that, the younger generation will not consider going into farming as an occupation if they are not well educated on it. In conclusion, young men and women will not be interested in farming as a profession if it is seen as an ordinary job; regardless, raising awareness about farming as a profession can be done to avoid the youths from hesitating to enter this profession.