In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Today, many countries are facing the same problem. The issue is that the increasing number of people that suffer from illnesses caused by the tendency of eating junk food. Therefore, the governments consider to put higher tax on this sort of food. So, in this essay, I would like to explain the reasons why I support this action as well as provide a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. To begin with, as we have known that the problems followed by the tendecy of eating junk food are the health problems, such as obesity and diabetes. Those problems actually push the government to give a lot of money to treat them well. However, after decades, the public money that uses to treat the patients are getting insufficient. Thus, the higher tax that the official imposes to the junk food restaurants can help it to cure those things. For instance, we can take an example for the ciggarette industries in Indonesia. They must pay certain amount of money to cover up the costs of health problems caused by them. Hence, the official can alter the public money to other important matters (e.g education or infrastructure). Secondly, another good reason is that when the tax is getting higher, the cost of the junk food is also getting expensive. This occurrence can lower the frequency of people eating that kind of food. Nevertheless, this situation might be accompanied by the spreading of healthy restaurants, for instance, salad-on-the-go in Indonesia, so that, people can alter their eating preference. As a result, this would reduce the number of obesity cases in a particular country which means that people are getting aware of their food and soon, this method can bring them to live the healthy lifestyle. In a nutshell, imposing higher tax to junk food restaurant is a nice solution to encounter the health issues that they caused. That money can be used to treat the patients and lowering the frequency to consume it. Hence, in the end, I would reiterate my belief that I really agree with that notion.