Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some are on the view that when a Law enforcement officer possess a firearm on duty, it stimulate increase level of violence. I strongly disagree to the above rather it increase the chance of self protection for the officer and the security for the community. A gun is issued to a police officer as a resemblance of authority and responsibility. To begin with, any police officer will go through extensive training and education before receiving a gun to active duty. As an example, united kingdom police force requires,an officer to go through 2 years of post qualification training on the job with a senior officer to earn a firearm. Moreover, this eventually train the police officer the importance of using the gun as and when needed to protect the society from any threat which can harm the peace of the country. The current terrorist threats around the globe needs extra measurement, when it comes to domestic security in countries. Firstly, any country will use the police force as the first point of contact to combat threats which ultimately requires the police officer to be equipped to handle any situation. In addition to this, the increase of domestic theft and burglary levels means that police officer needs act fast and needs to make sure that their life's also is safe, and for this reason it will help to increase the self protection of the officer it self. In conclusion, eventhough some people feels that carrying a gun by a police officer increase the chance of having violence, it is quite evident that having a firearm by a trained and a responsible officer will only increase the chance to mitigate such unfortunate events in the society.