Teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their communities. This is good for the individuals concerned and society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Discuss, based on your own knowledge and experience

Some people say that volunteering in teen years should be compulsory in a person’s life. Some people think that is a good thing for teenagers to do and for the entire society. I agree that service work is good in general for people to understand the role of a person in society and to broaden personal. Firstly, when teenagers do service work they are doing something apparently for others but also for themselves. For young people, these valuable and practical experiences help them to learn about themselves. Doing volunteering work may take them outside their comfort zone and expose them to people of different ages and various backgrounds. Furthermore, volunteering can help teens expand their understanding of certain aspects of society. For example,social work could eliminate their possible preconceptions of marginalised people, such as homeless, immigrants, the disabled or the elderly and all the difficulties that they confront. Working face-to-face with these people could help teenagers develop a different point of view and become more mature and open minded. Even volunteer work with no personal contact, such as cleaning the environment or recycling trash, helps teenagers feel good about working for nothing. In conclusion, although unpaid work is not mandatory for teenagers, being exposed to different realities and doing something concrete could be beneficial for young people and for society in general. Therefore, I believe that this idea should be promoted.