Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over recent years, the trend of adolescents opting for work after school has witnessed a steep incline. Although there is a popular belief that young adults who engage in tasks with monetary benefits are successful in their later stages of life, there are also people who are of the opinion that youngsters need to have their rest time. The intention of this article is to shed some light on both these ideologies. Perhaps the major advantage of youngsters working post their study time is that they are able to relate the concepts learned at school in real-life. As the topics are fresh in their minds, it is easier for them to implement these into solving business problems. For instance, a computer science student working as a library assistant can easily help the library develop library management software. Thus, giving him a chance to actualise his learnings. However, utilising free time to work stems some negatives too. A common drawback is that young adults become distant from their parents. The hectic schedule in school and longer duration of working hours at part- time work results in a lack of quality time with family. As a result, these youngsters lead a lonely life. An example of this is the recent studies portraying the declining scores of the relationship index. Adolescents taking up tasks with financial advantages is gaining immense popularity. This aids them in understanding and correlating ideas gained through education, whilst, leading them to a solitary lifestyle, if not balanced. My personal view is that young adults must take up opportunities to work at early ages itself as the positives of this outweigh the drawbacks.