Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that all nations should be self-sufficient by producing the food required to feed the whole population reducing to a minimal rate of importations. I utterly agree with that position, and the following essay will present the reasons. Many countries around the world despite their position in their economy, land availability, technological resources to improve their crop production, and diversity import billions of dollars of food. This unnecessary activity brings as a consequence the effect on local employment rates which have dropped dramatically during the last two decades. For instance, The New York Times reported in 2012 that hundreds of thousands of jobs are lost every year as the country continues buying tons of produce from overseas. Another aspect that should be considered in regards to importing vegetables, fruits, and meats from other parts of the world is the fact that increased importations immediately have a critical impact on climate change as the transportation of goods requires a great number of ships and planes that will need to use more fossil fuel releasing more carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. As an example, The United Nations presented a report in last year’s convention on climate change saying that exports related to items of basic need accounted for 10% of the Green House Gases released every year annually. In conclusion, the purchase of international produce has some negative impact not only on local economies and the environment, therefore, governments should also provide wider support to local farmers and improve crops yield and diversity to be able to supply for all its inhabitants.Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?