Some say that advertisements of snacks and toys have a great impact on children and their parents. So, the advertisement to children should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Advertisement toys and snacks have significantly increased over the years. Many people believed that it has a substantial influence on kids and adults and voiced out that these adverts should be banned. In this essay, I will talk about why I agree with banning the advertisement of toys and snacks. To start with, advertisements have been improving over the last few decades. Marketing agents have utilised various ways of advertising from TV adverts, radio and newspapers. There are plenty of adverts that are directed to children such as toys, snacks and clothing brands. This can negatively impact kids as they can copy and engage in unhealthy habits, attempt dangerous stunts and develop materialistic feelings. For example, children who often see advertisements about sugary cereals marketed to their age group, will tend to ask their parents to buy said cereal for them. This is harmful, as it enables kids to have an unbalanced meal for breakfast. Also, parent-child conflict has increased due to the rise of adverts that target kids 8 years and below. This is due to the kids feeling left out or throwing a tantrum for not getting what they wanted. On the other, some advertisement illustrates healthy habits that can help in encouraging kids to exercise. For example, in the Philippines, Milo has an advertisement that depicts the drink as the drink of the Olympians. This type of advertisement can help encourage kids to play sports or incorporate exercise into their daily routine. Also, advertising to kids can help them learn various topics in an age-appropriate manner. To conclude, I reaffirm my position in banning advertisements as it significantly impacts all ages, especially kids because of the negative impacts and consequences it creates.