In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphones) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It goes without saying that technology has changed the world throughout the years, and one of the most significant developments was mobile phone. Cellphones are becoming increasingly popular nowadays as they are used for several activities, such as to buy products through apps. However, while some people claim that there are benefits in this situation, I tend to believe that the downsides are greater. One of the major drawbacks is that elderly people usually prefer to pay in cash rather than access bank accounts on apps considering that it is quite challenging for them to get used to smartphones. Furthermore, it might be more economical to use money since some companies charge a fee for each digital service offered, which sums a considerable amount in the end of the month. Likewise, it is undoubtedly true that the connection with the internet is unstable in a great number of cities, especially during rainy days, which hinders consumers to make a digital transfer. Moreover, another reason why clients give up trying to purchase items online is that state-of-the-art devices do not offer a durable and efficient battery at the present days. There are, however, some advantages. It is undeniable that online transactions help the Earth as a whole since cards will become obsolete in the near future, consequently the amount of plastic on the planet will decrease. In addition to that, it is cost-effective for businesses to operate online due to the fact that it might reduce expenses with professionals and furniture. To sum up, when it comes to technology to pay bills, it is essential to consider some aspects, preferences and costs for instance. Despite the benefits, the negative aspects outweigh the positive ones in this matter because, from my point of view, some citizens still prefer to use money.