Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s modernization, it cannot be denied that the most popular activity for the citizens in their free time is shopping. This essay will explicate the two cause of this phenomena and explain what effects does it have on individuals and on society in the coming years. To commence with, the primary reason for this occurrence is the advancement of technology. In other words, people are more familiar with electronic devices that advertise products and services in an attractive way. For example, my mother has become more shopaholic after watching those eye-catching advertisement through her mobile phone and even the TV. This sort of increasing craze not only hampers an individual’s financial situation but also the whole family that may lead to dire straits. Another major cause is the maximum number of involvement in social media (Facebook, Instagram and Viber etc). To explain it, the highest percentage of people are using Facebook in their leisure time where they can see various adverts. And, those can easily create the desire for purchasing anyhow. For instance, a recent government survey in our country has demonstrated that ninety per-cent of citizens are influenced through social media for shopping. As a result, the increase in their desire can encourage them to become a criminal which is harmful to an individual as well as the society. In conclusion, although shopping has become famous nowadays due to globalization, it also has many negative effects as compared to the positive. Therefore, a person should choose the right way for the upliftment of own-self and the society.