Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In the last 50 years, the Exodus of families from small towns and villages to cities has caused many problems for public living in cities. Also, it posed challenges to authorities in handling the issues arising out of this situation. Traffic Congestion and Water Scarcity are the two major problems that must be tackled by Individuals and Governments. The first problem is Traffic Congestion, This is due to low-cost loan options, people can easily buy cars and use them to commute to the workplace rather than for weekend travel to other places. Also, the concept of carpooling is not popular in countries like India resulting in the use of one car per person and consequent traffic bottlenecks. Governments and Individuals should bring awareness about carpooling benefits through advertisements on social media and other communication channels. For example, In my,company there are posters at canteen’s, lifts, and other places to educate employees on the carpooling benefits for both individuals and society. Another problem is water scarcity, due to the huge variance between demand and supply. This applies to both drinking water and the water used for other purposes. Authorities should address the drinking water problem by bringing water from other places through irrigation projects. Individuals should plan rainwater harvesting and other measures in their communities to supplement their overall water needs. For Instance, the Government has already mandated rainwater harvesting in many metros in India. In conclusion, Both Citizens and Governments need to play their role effectively in handling Traffic Congestion & Water scarcity problems for making the lives of people living in urban areas much more comfortable than they are at the present.