In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

The usage of mobile phone apps for payments has become incredibly common in a lot of countries. Although there are minor privacy concerns related to this technology, it is extremely convenient and time-efficient. In my opinion, the benefits of app-based payments are far greater than the drawbacks. Inarguably, the greatest advantage of paying through third -party apps is convenience. In other words, not only can people shop at supermarkets and pay for online purchases but can also use this application to pay for transport and even for paying street vendors. Basically, this makes carrying cash around absolutely redundant. Individuals also use these apps to pay for overseas purchases whereby the disbursement is done immediately, and an enormous amount of time is saved for the transaction which would have otherwise taken days to complete, sometimes even weeks. For example, PayPal is a third -party app that is widely used now to make payments at a variety of platforms including international ones, consequently making for an enhanced purchase experience. It is, therefore, these critical factors of convenience and time-effectiveness that make payments through mobile-based apps so popular. Contrarily, this technological breakthrough is not without its flaws. The biggest and perhaps the only one being the invasion of privacy. By sharing personal information with these third -party apps, people are more susceptible to cyber crimes wherein sophisticated algorithms could be used by governments and other agencies to track and surveil them. To illustrate, it was reported that China extensively uses multiple mobile-based payment applications to check the unusual spending patterns of its citizens. Thus, privacy concern is the main drawback of this technology. In conclusion, paying for products via mobile applications is becoming increasingly widespread in a lot of nations. While breach of privacy is an obvious disadvantage of this system, a convenient and time-saving interface make it exceedingly beneficial. In my view, the pros of digital payment methods ultimately outweigh their cons.