Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourist who visit such places?

Nowadays, the tourism industry is changing and the number of tourists, who are passionate about exotic destinations such as the Shara desert or the Atlantic, is increasing. The forthcoming essay shall discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon. On the one hand, there are several advantages to increasing the number of tourisms. Firstly, the income of local people in remote areas will be increased due to the number of visitors. The individuals who travel to unique destinations would pay for their food and residence. Secondly, the photos which are taken by foreigners in places with harsh conditions might draw some global attention to these countries and may solve some of their problems. Finally, the governments and NGOs might fundraise some budget in order to ease their living conditions and advert to bring more travellers. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to travelling to these destinations, particularly for travellers. The unique areas usually have intolerable climates, for instance, the temperature in the Sahar desert is too high and there is a risk of dehydration. In contrast, the Antarctic is too freezing, also it is so dangerous to get there because of huge glaciers. Some tourists cannot tolerate difficult situations and they panic or even have a heart attack. In conclusion, visiting exotic places is so memorable for people who have adventurous spirit and there are some economic and cultural benefits for local people. However, travelling to remote areas has its risks.