Mobile phones have made life easier: anyone can use a mobile phone to answer/make work calls or home calls at any place 7 days a week. Do you think this development has more positive effects or negative effects on the individual and society?

Mobile phones and their convenience allow anyone to utilise them for work at any time from any place they want. While some believe that it promotes a toxic workaholic culture, this essay will argue that the benefit is more profitable by mobile phone development, especially due to the widely available remote-job opportunities. On the one hand, the portability of mobile phones made employers expect their staff to be reachable anytime. For instance, it is very common for a job posting to specify that an employee has to be available all the time, even after office hours. Moreover, the portability of mobile phones becomes an excuse for upper management to neglect professional boundaries. As a result, if this phenomenon is widely normalised at the workplace, it will promote a toxic hustle culture. On the other hand, the invention of mobile phones is far more beneficial if utilised wisely. Nowadays, working from home has been increasingly popular, thanks to the connectivity of mobile phones. Consequently, people with difficulty committing to office jobs, such as stay-at-home mothers or disabled people, are now able to be employed without leaving their home. Therefore, the connectivity and efficiency of mobile phones have expanded job markets toward a remote-working scheme, which introduces a wider range of employment opportunities. In conclusion, although mobile phones ' portability can promote a toxic work culture which neglects the private time of employees, their positive effects are more beneficial. Ultimately, stay-at-home mothers and disabled individuals can have the opportunity to make a living from remote work, thanks to the portability and connectivity which mobile phones offer.