In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity but many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online courses?

Advancement in technology has provided multiple avenues for learning courses. Although online courses have gained popularity in recent years, many students are of the opinion that studying in classrooms is far more effective. This essay will put forward the merits and demerits of learning online. To begin with, virtual learning is flexible. We can learn at our convenience in the comfort of our own space without any hustle. People will be comfortable which in turn contributes to productive results. For instance, I did my part-time degree course online and passed in flying colours. Secondly, studying online can help to save cost and effort spent on travelling to classrooms. The extra time can be put to use in learning new hobbies, doing exercises to keep fit and many other possibilities. For example, I was working a day job and learning evening part-time degree course online which provided me enough time to squeeze in some workout right before my class started. However, learning virtually has its drawbacks.As most of the course modules are done online there will be less social interaction between peers as they don't get a chance to meet up in person. This can affect the performance of pupils. If there is a group project to be completed, the pupil might find it difficult to communicate with each other and put forth their ideas as they are not in a physical classroom. Also, sometimes learning online at our own comfort can be distracting since there are many factors to make us lose our concentration. For example, students might feel like checking their social media accounts during online classes as they know the teachers wouldn't be able to reprimand them. In conclusion, though online classes are popular,it has its own benefits and drawbacks and is seen as less effective by a significant number of learners.