Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Speaking the native language of the country where you live is crucial in order to avoid social and every day problems. This essay completely agrees with that statement, mainly due to the difficulties of making new friends and using the local transportation system. Firstly, It is often a hard task to create new friendships when you speak a foreign language. This is simply because when you do not speak the local language it is more difficult to talk fluently and understand slang phrases, which are vital requirements in order communicating with others. For example, it can be challanging for a student that decides to study in a foreign country to find friends without speaking the native language in a high level. Secondly, in order to navigate comfortabley in a large city you usually need to have a firm control of the local spoken language. Nowadays, the vast majority of the information regarding the transportation system of a metropolin metropolitan could only be found on the internet, and it is often displayed only in the local language. For instance, one of the most popular ways of transportation in europe are trains. For an individual who does not speak the local language it can be fairly complicated to find the right train in order to reach his desired destination. In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are some significant drawbacks in living in a country where you cannot speak your mother tounge language. These obstacles may be the difficulty of making new friends and using the local transportation system.